STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206
C0-85-2205
C2-84-2163

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO
THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ORDER
FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

- WHEREAS, the Client Security Board and the Board of Continuing Legal Education -
filed reports with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the
Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys regarding allocation of the registration fee, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the recommendations on April 14,
1998, and

WHEREAS, an order filed by this Court on August 6, 1997 and effective until June
30, 1998 directed that the Board of Continuing Legal Education’s allocation of the registration
fee be increased from $7.00 to $14.00, and that the Client Security Fund’s allocation be
reduced from $20.00 to $13.00, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised

in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. The temporary reallocation of attorney registration fees for the Board of Continuing
Legal Eduction and the Client Security Fund contained in the August 6, 1997 order is revoked
July 1, 1998




2. Rule 2 (A),(B) and (C) of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of
Attorneys are amended as follows:
RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission
to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants
for such admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to
practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be
admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to
the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of Two Hundred and
Seven Dollars ($207.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter
determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January,

April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate

courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$44-00 10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$43-00 17.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars
($25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred
Eighty-two Dollars ($182.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory
Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00),

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee




of One Hundred and One Dollars ($101.00):
(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of
Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;

(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One Hundred and One Dollars ($101.00) so received shall be allocated as
follows:

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars
($25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Seventy-six
Dollars ($76.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee
shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00),

C. Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three

years shall pay an annual registration fee of Ninety-six Dollars ($96.00).

The Ninety-Six Dollars ($96.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:
$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$ 1400 10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$43-00 17.00 to the Client Security Fund

$25.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.




DATED:

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars
($25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Eighty-three
dollars and fifty cents ($83.50). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory
Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents ($12.50

The Client Security Board shall report to the Supreme Court if the Client
Security Fund goes below $1.5 million or above $2.5 million, and shall, if the
Fund remains within these parameters, review the assessment in five years to

ensure its continued appropriateness and make a report to this Court.

The changes in ihe allocation of attorney registration fees shall be effective
July 1, 1998, and for new licenses issued on or after July 1, 1998 and will
remain in effect until July 1, 1999. The Court will re-examine the allocation
for subsequent years and may reallocate an additional $2 currently allocated to

the Client Security Board.

May ol 2, 1998

BY THE COURT:

‘ Elthleen A. Blatz i
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